River City Volkswagen Club  
Home •  Club Meetings •  Gatherings •  Car Pics •  Links •  Message Board
FAQ •  Search •  Memberlist •  Calendar •  Album
Register •  Profile •  Log in to check your private messages •  Log in

1965 VW 13W Deluxe
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    River City Volkswagen Club Forum Index -> General Chatter
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dukebradbury

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:25 am    Post subject: 1965 VW 13W Deluxe Reply with quote

Just wanted to start a thread on the progress of my bus. Any comments or suggestions are greatly appreciated, as this is my first attempt at body work.

Here it is right after yarding it out of the field.

At home

After a little cleaning!!!It sure needed it after sitting in a field for 10 years!!

Left rear corner repair. This is my very 1st attempt at body work, and welding sheet metal! After turning off the "autoset" feature on my Millermatic 180 and dialing in the welder manually I was able to get the hang of it.

Mounting hole repair. Does anyone know what these were for?
There were four each side.

Patch repair method. Tried this after my 1st "fill in" attempt that didnt go so well.

Fill in method. Second attempt after getting the hang of welding sheet metal.
This is the end result Smile

Had some rust right above the drivers window. Some creature had made it his home.

Now for the nose....
Here is the before pics.

ONEBADBUG

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried using .024 wire?
Troy Hobbs

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:28 pm    Post subject: 1965 VW 13W Deluxe Reply with quote

Looking good. I would strip back the paint a little further in spots, you don't want the filler over the paint, just prepped bare metal or prepped epoxy
ARR #3
motofly196

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote